Is there a way to delete subroles in the Role Editor? The FCP X Help says, ” Create custom roles and subroles with care. Custom roles (and the names of custom roles) cannot be edited or removed from the roles list.”
This seems ridiculous and should be allowed. What if you want to change or rename a subrole?
They can be removed, but only AFTER they have been COMPLETELY irradicated (reassigned) from every clip in the project (or projects in the Library). Then when you think you’ve removed them, then restart FCPX and the subrole will be gone. There is a very good reason for this – it protects you from indadvertenly removing a subrole that other projects are relying on.